Facebook – What’s it all about?

I have often wondered : “Just what is the point of facebook?”, so I was delighted to come across an offering from one of our transatlantic cousins,  that has given me the answers I was looking for.

Here’s what it’s all about in a few throwaway soundbites that I’ll bet you won’t see in their advertising blurb :

  • facebook – Stalking. Made easy.
  • facebook – A new way to abuse family and friends.
  • facebook – Improving your self esteem one “like” at a time.
  • facebook – All the people you ever slept with. Together. In one place.
  • facebook – Relationships redefined.
    single   engaged   married  
    no-one wants me   it’s complicated
  • facebook – The really useful tool for telling your co-workers you’re ill when you’re not.
  • facebook – Making your shitty life look picture perfect.
  • facebook – Tell the world things no-one gives a shit about.
  • facebook – Making you feel popular when you’re not.
  • facebook – Dig up old friends just to see how fat and old they are.

Like I said, I don’t get it. Just what the fuck is it for??

3 responses to “Facebook – What’s it all about?

  1. Captain Haddock

    “Farcebook” is for Knob-Jockeys with too much time on their egotistical little hands ..

    Much the same can be said for “Twatter” too ..

    Utterly pointless .. Which possibly explains why both are so beloved of politicians ..

  2. Thanks for the shout out, but, Dioclese, I am one person (transatlantic cousins?) I would hate for anyone to assume that it took more than one great mind to come up with this. Nope, just one…the one that belongs to lil' old, despicable me;)

    Rachel
    http://www.consciouslysedated.com

  3. You're welcome, Rachel – and I did say 'one of'…Thanks for the larf.