Ethnic minorities and positive discrimination

The politically correct amongst you should leave now, because I am about to talk sense.
All this bullshit about ethnic minorities in Midsomer Murders (give me strength!) got me thinking…
Who is the most discriminated against ethnic minority in this country?
Is it women? No, because we have laws against sex discrimination and are encouraged to positively discriminate in favour of women.
Is it the blacks? No, because we have laws against discrimination on the grounds of race.
Is it the disabled? No, because it is illegal to discriminate against disabled people and we are encouraged to have quotas for employing them.
Is it the Jews or Muslims? No, because it is illegal to discriminate on the grounds of religion.
Is it former offender? No, because the government wants us to help rehabilitate former prisoners. 

Is it fat people? No, because if you are fat you will be given larger seats on planes and ambulances will be adapted to take your extra weight

Is it immigrants? No, because there are laws against discrimination on grounds of origin.

It’s none of the above – So who is it then?

Well, I’ll tell you who it is. It’s me!

I am a slim, white, law abiding, able bodied, anglo saxon, CofE, male. I’ve got no fucking chance, because I have not one single solitary anti-discrimination law protecting me.

So what about me, Mr Cameron? Positive discrimination discriminates negatively against the other person!

Sammy Davis Jr. was once asked the secret of his success. He replied “I’m a one eyed black Jew. How could I fail?”

Too bloody true!

7 responses to “Ethnic minorities and positive discrimination

  1. Not the most sound reasoning. A white person playing the race discrimination card.

    I don't think you're being serious though. I def. think if you fleshed this post out more it could be in the Onion.

  2. Captain Haddock

    Oh .. you forgot to mention heterosexual .. if you find the very idea of pushing another bloke's shit uphill distasteful, you've got no chance ..

    I've been saying this for years Dio ..

    But there's none so deaf as those who refuse to listen, in case it fucks up their promotion .. or they lose a few votes ..

  3. The lie that “descrimination laws work in both directions” was proved here at the begining of the year.

    A petition on the Reichstag web site demanding that the phrase “Scheißdeutscher” be treated the same as “Scheißturke” was ordered removed by non less than Merkel herself.

    It has also recently been decided by the Verfassungsgericht (Constitutional court), that “Scheißdeutscher” is NOT “Volksverhetzung” (Incitement), but “Scheißturke” is.

    Now, what this sais to me, is that the “race laws” are actualy more racist than the expressions themselves.

    It sais, that Turks need the protection of the law, because they are somehow weak, and unable to defend themselves, or are emotionaly unstable so as not to be able to “stand a bit of banter”, whereas Germans are strong, upstanding, emotionaly superiour, who can just shrug off such with a stiff upper lip, and get on with life.

    Although my example is German, the conclussion regarding the “anti descrimination laws” apply to ALL countries.

  4. I am a slim, white, law abiding, able bodied, anglo saxon, CofE, male
    Captain Haddock deals with you not being a bender but you also fail to mention “pay my taxes” amongst your many failings.

  5. Interesting comment Xay-B. I wasn't actually trying to play the race card. I was trying to make the point that there is no such thing as positive discrimination because if it is positive to one side then it is negative against the other. Nevertheless, you make a good point.

  6. Does someone really have to point out to you that there is a difference between law and social norms?

    Just because a law is passed tomorrow making is illegal to discriminate against ginger people, does that mean they will automatically no longer be discriminated against?