September bloody September


I bloody hate September – and not for the normal reasons like the nights closing in and temperatures dropping. I can handle those by buggering off to Greece or Italy or some other warmer place once the kids are back to school…

No. I hate September because I have two ageing cars respectively 17 years old (mine) and the other 23 years old belonging to Mrs D. The problem is that both MOT tests come up in September.

When we came here 11 years ago this month and moved into the town centre we knew we didn’t really need two cars but with the age they’re at they were worth more to us than any money we could get for them so we formulated a plan. We’d wait for one to fail it’s MOT and scrap, then sell the other and buy one nice new shiny one. It was a good plan which has failed spectacularly because the buggers keep passing.

This year mine scraped through the emissions test, bang on the red line! I’m told the cat is going but then they told me that last year too. This year they said it likely needs a good blast up the motorway to just blow the crap out of it. Having just given it a 500 mile round trip round the M25, M4 and M5 I don’t find this reassuring so I’m expecting a nice big bill to come around sooner rather than later.

So that leaves the other motor. It’s MOT is on the 19th. Three years back the clutch went as I drove out of the car park at Gatwick. No warning, just pedal to the floor. I drove it home without a clutch and figured if it cost £500 and lasted two years, I’d break even so I got it done. Good decision, but then it failed needing £60 worth of welding last time so I got that done too. It’s a good car even thought it’s getting on a bit.

So here we are again, MOT time. I’ve decided to sell mine whatever. If her’s passes then we’ll carry on running it. If it fails then we need to hastily find a new car and, let’s face it, they’re all crap and it’s a bloody minefield.

So do me a favour, and keep your fingers crossed for me on the 19th…

4 responses to “September bloody September

  1. My dillema is similar, I have a 30 year old car, but I have a spare, almost mint shell. I will swap the gubbis around when the old car is BER. Hwever, I said that over 10 years ago. This hears MOT Pass. Emissions at 67ppm and .5%CO2… A fuel injected modern car cannot beat that…

  2. Mr D, have you thought about driving the ‘old chariot’ to a spot of natural pristine beauty and setting it alight? Nice little earner on the insurance front.

    • Quire happy to keep running it as long as it passes or doesn’t cost me a fortune!
      Actually the problem IS the insurance. One minor prang is all it would take to write it off – and they’d give me bugger all for it. We-Con-Any-Cunt.com offered me £50 for it. A tank of petrol is almost that and I could get more from a breakers yard. I could stick four bald tyres on it, scrap it and get more for the tyres on eBay.

      Only one thing certain is that the new one ain’t going to last 23 years…

  3. The good news is that mine passed so I’ll be selling that in the spring as I don’t really get to use it these days.
    The bad news is that the old faithful failed. Not all doom and gloom as £180 is required for a spot of welding and she’ll be good for a few more years yet…
    Well, until next bloody September anyway…