Bono bollocks

screenshot2016-11-02at11-40-53-e1478088193743
My regular reader might have worked out by now that I’m not a great advocate for political correctness, particularly amongst the know-fuck-all snowflake generation, but last week it hit new height of ridiculousness when Bono was awarded ‘Woman of the Year’!

Now even the great (?) man (?) himself recognised that awarding Woman of the Year to someone who isn’t a woman was bloody ridiculous. “This is ridiculous” he said. “And if I didn’t know it was ridiculous then there’s the internet to remind me!” Well, Bono me old mucker, I wouldn’t want to be the exception to that particular piece of your wisdom. What we need to ask ourselves tho’ is that if he knew it was ridiculous, then why didn’t he just say “Don’t be silly – I’m a bloke!” and decline the award?

Well, that’s just not the publicity hungry Bono’s self important way is it?

Then he got serious – well, serious by Bono standards anyway. “2016 might be the year I stop believing north stars are always visible, even through a layer of fog. This year, the north star looked like a neon sign, fizzing and crackling, ‘hate for hire,’ ‘girls for rent,’ ‘women need not apply,'” he said. “I say to the president-elect, look across to women. Make equality a priority. It is the only way forward. The train is leaving the station, be on it or be under it.”

So the latest in a long line of celebs lining up to give Donald Trump lessons in how to be President. Among them Mylie Cyrus who wants, from her vast experience in life, to explain to Trump “all the things he doesn’t understand.” What a twat…

Bono’s award was presented by Amy Poehler, a leading light in the womens’ right movement. Unfortunately, Amy doesn’t seem to apply the same sentiments to racism or sexism. Here’s what she said : “We are gonna spend the next four years watching white men congratulate themselves.”

White men like Bono, then, eh Amy?…

5 responses to “Bono bollocks

  1. ” Make equality a priority” This make my piss boil. Now whilst I have no problem with women in the workplace, and I have no problem with a woman being paid the same as a man if she does the same job, what we are not is equal. Equality of opportunity is one thing, equality between sexes is not possible. We are not equal, we are just different. You need men just as much as you need women. One cannot exist without the other.
    Rant over.

  2. PS. Bono is a Bellend.

  3. As you know Mr D, I’m a great fan of the ‘Boner’ http://flaxensaxon.blogspot.co.nz/2016/09/saint-boner.html

  4. I’m really stuck for words on this, so I’ll just repeat the words of Francis Urquhart; “I couldn’t possibly comment.”

First comments must be approved - but after that you're in !

