Princess Di and Sir Nigel

article-0-185eeaa2000005dc-997_634x521
So Farage steps down as the UKIP leader and Diane James is installed as the new face of UK Independence from Europe. An era has – supposedly – come to an end.

Nigel Farage has been named by no less than the Sunday Times as the most significant British politician of the 21st century so far. I agree with them. The man has dedicated his political life to one single aim : securing a referendum to remove the UK from the Fourth Reich and winning that referendum. He’s done his job and, in my opinion, should be rewarded for his singular dedication to his country by being awarded a knighthood or – even better – a peerage. This will, of course, never happen because he’s ruffled too many establishment figures.

So Nigel takes a step back and is replaced by a capable woman who openly claims not to be either Nigel-like or even Nigel-light. Diane James needs to take UKIP by the scruff of the neck and shape it into a credible force to ensure there is no back tracking on the Brexit decision. It’s a huge task as UKIP is fractious and has to be pulled together. She made a good start by telling disgraced former Tory MP Neill Hamilton that his speech to conference was cancelled.

I remember attending a UKIP branch meeting where Hamilton was discussed. The man was universally despised by the meeting as an opportunist clown. He failed to make it onto the ballot paper shortly afterwards when he was going after an MEP job in the South West. Nobody likes him except his mate Farage. Without Farage he’s toast. Like I said, not a bad start.

Earlier today I heard a rumour that Aaron Banks, UKIP’s major backer, was considering switching his allegiance to a new party set up by the majority of Labour MPs who are pissed off with Corbyn. That might be so, but it was then suggested that Farage would head it up. I just can’t see a load of Labour MPs agreeing to follow Farage and, even less, can I see Farage agreeing to stab UKIP in the back. He’s put his life into the party and there’s no way he’s going to betray that commitment.

Labour may well split on the 14th. A new party may emerge. Some might defect to UKIP. It’ll be interesting and edifying to watch Labour sink slowly into oblivion. Can Diane James capitalise on that split and help, in Farage’s words, to “reshape the face of British politics”?

I hope so. She was clearly the best candidate for UKIP. I voted for her – despite my mysogonistic tendencies towards yet another woman heading a political party. I never was one for being fashionable…

7 responses to “Princess Di and Sir Nigel

  1. …This will, of course, never happen because he’s ruffled too many establishment figures…

    Same with Enoch Powell half a century ago: plus ça change…

  2. “…………….he’s ruffled too many establishment figures”………..Frankly I’m amazed he has survived relatively unscathed barring of course a couple of questionable ‘episodes’. A seat in the HoL might indeed be fun to watch.

  3. “I hope so. She was clearly the best candidate for UKIP. I voted for her – despite my mysogonistic tendencies towards yet another woman heading a political party. I never was one for being fashionable…”

    And I voted for her too. The difference I suppose is that I don’t care what’s between their legs, it’s what’s between their ears that matter. Gender in my view is irrelevant. Either you’re the best person for the job or you aren’t.

  4. Oh, I dunno, a female leader is another opportunity to rub Labour’s noses in it… As with the Tories, not a closed list in sight.