Cunts on bikes

images
We all moan a lot about cyclists ignoring the rules of the road and basically being inconsiderate and dangerous bastards, but recently we’ve had right bloody idiots on our local pseudo-motorway which leads me to reflect on just how stupid motorcyclists can be as well…

The first was a bloke going home from work at 135mph because he’d ‘had a shit day and just wanted to get home as soon as possible’. Amazingly, he told the local magistrate just that in mitigation and clearly the crusty old sod fell for it because he got a 3 month ban and a £50 fine. The police are, needless to say, outraged that he got off so lightly but have no grounds for appealing the sentence. Personally I think a 12 month ban and a £500 fine would have been more in order.

Then just to rub salt in the wound, another guy was caught doing 103mph in a 40mph limit while a 56 year old biker was clocked at 160mph on the A14 in Cambridgeshire. Frankly anyone doing 100mph in a built up area should be banned for years, not 16 weeks. And 160mph on the A14 is suicidal – especially as the rider was old enough to know better.

I got prosecuted when I was in my 20s when I was overtaking a car in the 30 limit and the bloke turned right without signalling. That cost me a broken leg from which I still have the scars. It was bad luck on my part but because I was doing more than 30, I was done for driving without due care. Proportionally, the fine was more than any of these idiots got.

There’s a lot more traffic now than then. It’s a sight more dangerous and anyone driving like this is asking to get killed. The problem is that they’ll take some poor innocent sod with them – and when they do, it will be partly the fault of the idiot magistrates who let people like this off so lightly….

21 responses to “Cunts on bikes

  1. We have just started having the same problem , with idiots on bikes. We live on a busy main road, and the traffic is always busy . Just recently the chaos has been added too by the same bunch on bikes tearing up and down the road en mass riding 2 and sometimes 3 abreast and these are not stupid millennials, these are older people who should bloody know better. you can hear them coming from a long way off and the combined roar of 20 engines all revving and behaving like 5 year olds drives me nuts.

    • Mrs D once asked what I’d do when she’d died! Cheery conversation!

      I said buy a Harley and ride across America with a guitar on my back. She called me a silly old sod and said I’d kill myself. I said so what…

      • Buy a Harley? You might as well purchase John Deere or Massey Ferguson. A Triumph, Honda or BMW will do the job better, and people won’t think you’re just another weekend warrior. The whole ‘Easy Rider’ thing is all sound and mock-fury.

      • Missing the point there Bill. It’s all about style over substance…!

  2. It was bad luck on my part…

    No it wasn’t. It was entirely your fault for attempting an overtake on the approach to a junction. Luck had nothing to do with it. You were bang to rights. And I agree, some of the idiotic behaviour of some riders is insufficiently punished. It gives the rest of us a bad name.

    • Yeah OK – but the bugger still didn’t signal so he was at fault too…

      And it would have been nice if they’d thought three months in traction in a hospital bed was sufficient punishment.

      • Remember, I teach this stuff for a living (part of the time) 😉 If you want to stay alive on a bike, you have to take responsibility for everyone else on the road. Defensive riding is the only approach to take. Whether the other person signalled or not makes no difference – you put yourself in that position, so, er, tough. Fortunately, you lived to tell the tale and hopefully learned from it.

        My pet hate is noisy exhausts. There is no excuse for it. Anyone who tries to bullshit you with the argument that they are a safety device is a charlatan.

      • Certainly learnt from it. I was younger and more stupid at the time. I wouldn’t do it now – but having said that I’d be reluctant to ride a bike at all these days. There’s a hell of a lot more traffic than there was in 1969!

        And why the hell does the new Bonneville have a 1200cc engine? I had a T100 500cc twin carb and that was definitely more than enough power.

        When I was older I had a 400/4 Honda and that went like shit off a shovel!! Can’t get my head round why any bike off track needs 1200cc…

  3. A motorcycle passing a long line of stationary cars must involve the risk of a frustrated car driver suddenly executing a three point turn at the exact point of overtake. Decades of motorcycling experience has exposed me to several near misses as a result of that risk. It is a manoeuvre warranting extreme caution. I frequently see younger motorcyclists taking chances I would never contemplate; on machines of immense power and incompatible with their limited experience.

    • Filtering is an exercise taken very carefully.Slowly enough to stop in such circumstances. If the traffic is moving,ill join the queue and move with it.

  4. My BMW is a 1200. It means cruising comfortably at legal speeds with an under-stressed engine and plenty on tap if I need it to get out of trouble.

    People like me buy them. That’s why. It’s called consumer choice.

  5. If you use your motorcycle for touring and do longer distances, small engined bikes can be somewhat tiring to ride. Larger engines are much less revvy and have lots of torque, especially big twins, and so are much more relaxing to ride generally and especially over long distances.

    Also, as LR says, you never overtake near a junction.

  6. Funnily enough, not too many mad bikers hereabouts, though the local yobs are a bit too keen on those wasp-in-a-jam-jar sounding scooters.

    Maybe the execrable state of the car drivers in these parts puts them off? Was overtaken on a blind bend just this morning for having the temerity to be keeping to the speed limit of 30mph as I approached a busy town. The moron nearly collected a lady with a pram.

    I think I’ll get me one of those dashcams….

  7. Re your comment about the 1200cc Bonneville. It only pumps out 80 bhp and weighs in at an hernia inducing 224 kg dry (so one quarter of a metric tonne). It’s liquid cooled, though styled to look air cooled and it uses fuel injection, with injector bodies that look like carbs.

    http://www.triumphmotorcycles.co.uk/motorcycles/classics/bonneville/2016/bonneville-t120/variants/bonneville-t120#specification

    Oh and it’s entirely unit construction, though they’ve seen fit to incorporate a cover on the motor that give the impression of a separate gearbox.

    The revived Bonneville has been a roaring success, though the 900 version is easily the more popular – and comes in a range of styles.

    http://www.triumphmotorcycles.co.uk/motorcycles/classics

    And barrow loads of accessories.

    John Bloor has always said he’d build what his customers want. They’re nice, soft, comfortable machines and none will get even remotely close to 160 mph.

    But if you imagine this is just a play on a well loved name, you really should take a look at the new Norton Commando.

    http://www.nortonmotorcycles.com/bikes/commando-961-sf-mk-ii/

    And it only weighs a tad over 200 kg wet.

    Beautiful, but we’re talking a cool 14.5 grand before options. So just over twice the price of a 900 Bonnie.

  8. Here in Edinburgh the local council gives 7% of the transport budget to cyclists by way of road markings, cycle ways and other guff. The cyclists rarely have taken any training, are not insured and don’t pay anything.
    We motorcyclists get to ride in the bus lanes at all times which is useful. However the road surfaces are grim, diesel is slopped out of buses, lorries and taxis and we have a lot of cobbles.
    Apart from tha everything is fine!

  9. Don’t tar all us bikers with the same brush Dioclese
    I’ve gone to great pains to make sure that I stay alive on my bike – A Hayabusa since you ask. I did the Met BikeSafe course where my instructor after a long rideout said – “I can see why you’re still alive” And the reason Dioclese is that soooo many car drivers never use those little shiny things on their doors, or the shiny thing that hangs down just behind the windscreen, and they almost never look over their shoulder. They are cocooned in their steel shell, radio on, thumb up bum and brain in neutral. I simply cannot afford to do the same thing – I’d be dead in 5 minutes flat. I run a commentary in my head of what’s going on around me – what hazards, who is doing what, who to steer clear of, because they look like they don’t know what they’re doing. Actually to get a feel for the muppets after a while – ask Longrider. I also often ride out with a mate who is a qualified IAM observer – and you rarely get safer than that

  10. Quite. I often wince at the speed some biker do filter, but I was always taught to ride as fast as you can see to be clear – which means around 5-10mph tops when filtering.

  11. @ Rapscallion. The trouble with our local BikeSafe courses is my intolerance of ‘patronising plod’ who are also pumped up with an annoying egotism that inevitably includes lectures about themselves. A good alternative can be found in the roadcraft videos posted on Youtube. I find these an excellent source of study and reflection.

    • Depends on the plod. Cracking on with a class one rider behind you saying “get on with it” can be fun. They know their stuff and you can learn a lot from them. But, they are people and will come in all flavours. My experience of them has always been positive. They have always been bikers first coppers second.

      • Concur. Depends on Plod. Some are good, some, not so much. For MTG – I also use the services of my IAM qualified friend – to keep sharp. I’ll check out those roadcraft vids though, every little bit of information is useful. That if I may say is the big difference between bikers and car drivers. Bikers take it much more seriously and know that they’ll never know it all. Car drivers stop wanting to become better when they past their test.

  12. LR has it. Always assume the other guy is an unpredictable dick who’s not paying attention and you won’t go far wrong. Paranoia keeps you alive. Especially on a motorcycle.

    As for getting nicked at high speed, well, that’s down to poor hazard perception, going too fast when you aren’t sure who or what is around you, regardless of whether you’ve had a shit day at work.

First comments must be approved - but after that you're in !

