The real House of Cards

house-of-cards_2977448b
It’s funny sometimes how fiction turns into fact. For the truth of that, you need do no more than look at the entry of Michael Gove into the Tory leadership race and compare it to Michael Dobbs excellent book “House of Cards”.

I recommend that you download the original series – not the appalling and rambling American version – and compare Gove’s approach to Francis Urquhart.

FU came to power as a result of broken job promises by the PM. Cameron demoted Gove. Boris and Gove shafted Andrea Leadsom over a job promise.

Gove shafted Boris with a leaked email. See any comparison between Mrs Gove and Elizabeth Urquhart?

FU was the chief whip. Gove used to be a whip. Whips know where all the dirt is buried and FU used it to his own advantage. Far be it from me to suggest that Gove might just know where there are a few hidden skeletons. Shurely not…

Remember the words of Urquhart when it was suggested he run for PM?

What, me? Oh, no no no. I’m the Chief Whip, merely a functionary. I keep the troops in line. I put a bit of stick about. I make them jump. And I shall, of course, give my absolute loyalty to whoever emerges as my leader.

And Gove’s words?

I never thought I’d ever be in this position.I did not want it, indeed I did almost everything not be a candidate for the leadership of this party. I was so very reluctant because I know my limitations. Whatever charisma is I don’t have it, whatever glamour may be I don’t think anyone could ever associate me with it.

I’m wondering if Dobbs wrote that speech. The parallels are eerie.

At this point I’m making my mind up who to vote for and suspecting that the right person for the job may actually be neither of the big guns so I’m backing Andrea Leadsom. She displayed statesmanlike coolness in the referendum debates and has the right background for the job. If she doesn’t get it, then I’d like to see her in number 11 as Chancellor.

Now that would be a turn up wouldn’t it? A female PM and a female Chancellor. And possibly a female opposition leader if that appalling harridan Eagle takes over from Corbyn.

May you live in interesting times” as the old Chinese curse goes…

6 responses to “The real House of Cards

  1. Kath Gillon

    I am a bit put off Andrea Leadsom because she looks a little too like Christine Hamilton and Jilly Goolden for my liking. Maybe it’s my eyesight but I couldn’t decide if it was Christine Hamilton or Jilly Goolden till I had a picture of all three of them in front of me (not a pleasant experience let me tell you!) But I think Christine is the closest resemblance and that makes me wary. 🙂

  2. I heartily concur: Andrea doesn’t have a “born with a silver spoon” background, she appears much straighter than the others, she is pro-Brexit, she is anti-EU, she is anti-HS2, she has held down jobs outside the Westminster bubble. What’s not to like?

    • I concur with your summary Ted. I can see a two woman final vote but wouldn’t like to call the result

      Incidentally I gather you’ve had problems at Flaxen’s place posting comments. I’ve had a fiddle with his settings so you might have more luck there now?

  3. Which one of the three will be pushed off a parliament building by the wicked and scheming new Prime Minister? I’m positively giddy with anticipation.