Should I Gove or should I May?

_75400468_de46-1
Sorry – apologies to the Clash but I couldn’t resist the pun…

Basically it’s looking like a two horse race for Number 10 after Boris Johnson pulled a corker of a surprise by pulling out of the contest when Michael Gove declared his intention to run. The question really is ‘Why did Boris decide not to run?’ to which I suspect the answer is that he seriously misjudged the situation.

Gove is no fool, and it seems to me that the ‘leak’ of his wife’s email (exactly why would they email each other in the first place?) was little more than a carefully staged piece of choreography to force Boris’ hand. Of course Gove was going to look for a senior cabinet post in a Johnson cabinet in exchange for his support but Boris simply told him he wasn’t going to decide who did what until he was elected. For a PM in waiting, this is a serious error of judgement that would seem to support that he’s not ready for the top job.

So, no promise of a top job from Boris means Gove threw his hat into the ring and I think he was right to do so. By standing himself he will either be the next PM of will guarantee himself that elusive senior role in a May cabinet in order to unite the anti and pro Brexit camps.

I have no real preference for Gove or May in this race. May is an able and competent politician and has a ruthless streak about her reminiscent of Margaret Thatcher. In this Brexit world you need a hard nosed ruthless bastard to stand up to the EU bullying that is to come.

May has also had the common sense to stay relatively neutral in the referendum run up. Although saying she would rather stay than leave, she’s been very careful not to alienate either side of the debate. If Cameron had done the same then we’d not be looking to replace him.

So where’s my money going? Well, I think May will get the job and Gove will head the Brexit negotiation team. On balance, I actually think that that’s the best role for each of them at the end of the day.

Either way, we’ll know soon enough…

9 responses to “Should I Gove or should I May?

  1. rapscallion

    May, must under no circumstances be PM. This creature decided to save her career by indicating she’d rather stay on the most important question this country has had to face for 40 years. What she is not is a Brexiteer, an important qualification right now I would have thought. This is a woman who said she’d be happy to have Sharia courts FFS. To quote the Iron Lady herself, “No, no, no”

    I don’t trust her as far as I could throw her with two broken arms sat in a wheelchair, I think she’ll try and backslide on Brexit. I don’t suppose Gove is a paragon on virtue, but the one virtue he does have was that he was prepared openly to put his career before country. Actions, speak louder than words.

  2. Of the two, Gove.

  3. Kath Gillon

    I think May will get it, Gove is still seen as the nerd who messed with schools by many and doesn’t have the same popularity within the Conservative party. Gove definitely would not win a general election, May on the other hand might. But that does not make her the right candidate. However if she wins and Gove is put in charge of Brexit that I think will be the best solution. Well realistically it’s the only bloody solution we have right now. May has her issues but at least she is not Jeremy Cunt. Or Liam Pox.

    • Or, alternatively, Gove is seen as the one who tried to restore some sanity to our education system and curriculum, but immediately incurred the wrath of the left-wing teaching (agitprop indoctrination) unions and was demoted ‘cos Dave bottled out of confronting those unions.

  4. Your points are well made but remember that the majority of the PCP are anti Brexit which does give her a bit of an edge. And we do need to bring both sides together.

    And if Labour splits, how many Tory MPs will defect? Now there’s a good question…

  5. Quick Draw McGraw

    I think you’re right, May will win it. That doesn’t mean I support her though. Today, she’s backtracked on her pledge to withdraw form the European Commission on Human Rights, a big deal breaker for me. I also don’t like the way she spent so long professing to be a Eurosceptic, only to nail her colours to the EU flag when the time came.

    And considering, as I said, she’s back tracked on her ECHR pledge, I see no evidence that she’ll keep her other pledges either. She needs to do quite a lot to convince me that she’s worth voting for in 2020. Having said that, I do think she’ll give that dumpy, fat Kraut a run for her money. And with Blair sniffing around the coming negotiations, we need someone who’s willing to tell him to jog right on.

  6. For what it’s worth in the absence of Jacob Rees-Mogg not being in the race I would like to see Andrea Leadsom take the top spot. With May spending the campaign hiding behind the sofa waiting to see which bandwagon to jump on when it’s all over I don’t find endearing.

  7. Mick Anderson

    I suspect that neither Mr Gove or Mrs May will win, and it will go to someone we know nothing about. Andrea Leadsom has to be best guess at the moment, but if the selection process goes through multiple rounds another non-entity may emerge.

    Both of the top two have history that is likely to make them unappealing to the general electorate. Mrs May has hardly covered herself in glory at the Home Office; Mr Gove has annoyed lots of teachers and not found favour with the prison officers. The Conservative Party will be aware of this when they cast their vote.

    It all feels a little like the Presidential election in the USA – if any one of these people is the answer, please ask a different question!

  8. Well, I got that one totally wrong didn’t I?