Now for something completely different…

4-berth-swift
Well by the time you read this we will have travelled back to Inverness and stocked up at the local Tesco before starting the next leg of our Scottish adventure…

Bit of a contrast for this bit. From the luxury of the ship we are picking up a camper van in Fortrose and intend to circumnavigate ( sort of ) the Scottish highlands. I’ve never done this before but it should be an experience!

The plan is to head up the East coast through Wick and Dunstanbury Head to Thurso, then along the north coast to Durness and Cape Wrath before heading down the west coast to Applecross and heading back to fortrose.

Many years ago – about 44 I think – a friend of mine and I jumped into his mini and headed to Durness where we lingered a few days in the Smoo Cave Hotel. I have a picture of him and me propping up the bar with pint of heavy in hand!

Regrettably he died young from a brain embolism so I’d kind of like to take the same picture with myself and the better half in similar pose. Strangely, I looked up the hotel a couple of weeks back and pulled up a picture of the bar. It’s not changed one iota in 44 years!

So I’ll raise a glass to you, Phil, wherever you are now…

First comments must be approved - but after that you're in !

