It’s OK to worry about immigration

welby-_2523744b
How delighted I am to discover that I have been given special dispensation by the head of the Church of England to disapprove of high levels of migrants coming into the UK without being branded as a racist.

I’m not a racist. I might be a patriot who puts his own country ahead of others. I might be a xenophobe who is suspicious of the motives of others. I might be someone who believes that charity begins at home. I might even be someone who doesn’t want to be blown up by a jihadist. I might be religiously intolerant. But I’m not a racist.

The Archbishop of Cunterbury – of whom I admittedly hold a rather low opinion – says that it is ‘absolutely outrageous’ to dismiss the public’s legitimate concerns over mass immigration as racist. ‘There is a genuine fear. And it is really important that that fear is listened to and addressed. There have to be resources put in place that address those fears. What happens about housing? What happens about jobs? What happens about access to health services?’

Apparently, he also says that the Church will not be taking a position on the Brexit vote although, frankly, to me it seems that he just did because the only way we can address the problem of unrestricted immigration and the only way in which we will be allowed to expel undesirables from the UK is by leaving the EU and not being subject to the ECHR, the ECJ and the European Commission.

So thanks, Welby. Never thought I’d see the day you actually talked some sense…

Comments are closed.