Shitipedia : S is for Spellchecking

768e0-spellcheck
Is it just me that wants to throw the computer through the window every time the spell checker cuts in? (It just corrected throw to through and I had to change it back!)

The damn things are the curse of life to anyone who writes regularly on a computer! The most annoying things about them seem to be (1) finding out how to turn it off (2) getting it to understand that the entire world doesn’t work in the American bastardisation if English, and (3) the damned thing predicting what you meant to say and correcting it without you noticing!

So which one is the worst? The Mack or Micro sloth versions? Eye can’t tell. Two me, won is as bad as tea udder. Fare enough. If eye had maid lots of miss steaks, they kneed two bee picked up!

And I know that that last paragraph is write because the speel chucker said sew.

Aaaaarrrrgggghhhhhhh!!!!!!!

9 responses to “Shitipedia : S is for Spellchecking

  1. Furor Teutonicus

    Or when the bastard refuses to accept words you KNOW are correct, and you then go through 13 bloody dictionarys just to prove to yourself you are not going mad.

  2. I don’t have a problem with it. It underlines anything it finds dodgy in red for spelling and blue for double spaces or homophones. I can then accept, change to what I want it to be or add my correct word to the dictionary. As a proof reading tool, I find it useful.

    • That’s how it pretty much works on the Mac but it has been known to autocorrect to what it thinks I meant to say…

      • The only time I have auto-correct problems is on the phone. It does it so quickly, you don’t see it until after you’ve hit “send”. On the computer,though, not a problem.

  3. The Tutor tells me he would love ‘tea udders’.

    Spell Check and Grammar Check are nothing, at least you can disable them if you want to. You can’t affect/effect this though:

    http://sterculianrhetoric.blogspot.ca/2015/10/charlton-heston-and-bill-gates.html

  4. I actually believe the Word 2013 Spellcheck designed by Yoda was. Dealing with some reports that stated “this can be confusing” it suggested “can confusing be…” All part of the fun though.

  5. I work for a German company and our emails are dealt with via the company’s servers in Germany. So emails in English are spellchecked and auto corrected in German. This means that nearly every word has a wiggly red line under it and the words ‘for the’ are always corrected to ‘fort he’. Sometimes when you go back and correct the corrections, the system twigs and switches the spellchecker to English, but not always.