When I’m 64

A guest post by Chas C

The day has finally arrived!

My first thought is “Where the fuck did 64 years go?!?” Then I looked at the picture on the left and thought “Bloody hell! Do I look like that?” Well, thankfully not a lot which I put down to my dear wife’s tender care over the last years 32 years. Hang on – that’s half my life!

Time takes it’s toll on us all in one way or another. I often think that just waking up in the morning and getting out of bed without a back ache or pain in my knee would be a wonderful thing. The body inevitably wears out until to you get to the point where you think “Is there much more of this? Can I pop off now?”

But enough of this morbid nonsense!

It’s time to reflect on the last 64 years. Did I realise all the things I wanted to do when I was young? Did I hell! But do I regret it? No, not really. Things have worked out pretty well considering. OK the divorce from the my first missus was a bit shitty. Well, actually it was a lot shitty, come to think of it. Losing my job the first time was also a bit of a crunch moment but after the first time, the next four were a doddle. It’s like falling off a horse. You just have to get back on again.

Most people my age are easing themselves towards retirement. I was lucky in that I retired at 52 although it has to be said that the harder I worked, the luckier I got. I was fortunate to have worked myself into a position where I didn’t need the office politics and bullshit any longer. Enough was enough. I’d had enough and I’d got enough, so to hell with it!

When I was young, my ambition was to be the director of a major company at 40. I managed it – albeit a small subsidiary – at 38. At school I wanted to go to Uni and study computing. I failed my A levels and went out to work, ending up working in the IT industry. When I was a teenager, I wanted to be a professional musician in a group – but it was the 60s and everyone wanted to be a Beatle in those days. I’ve just finished recording another album of my own songs. Nobody buys them, but that’s not the point. The point is that it’s satisfying and that I’m able to do what I enjoy doing

Which brings me to my point : I’ve had a good life so far, seen the world, got a wonderful family, money in the bank and I’ve still got all my faculties. I intend to get a good few more years in yet before I shuffle off the old mortal coil.

So ‘When I’m 64’ isn’t so bad really – but I will do serious damage to anyone who plays me that song today!!!!

5 responses to “When I’m 64

  1. Congratulations Dioclese, and Happy Birthday. I'm a bit younger than you, 60 next year. I left school at 16 because the teachers (masters) told my parents that I would not get sufficient 'O' levels to stay on and do 'A' levels. As it happens I passed more than enough to stay on, but that's another story.

    So I went out to work. Being interested in electronics, I applied for an apprenticeship at the GPO. After seeing what a struggle both my parents had trying to “make ends meet”, and slogging their guts out in the “rat race”, my primary ambition was to retire early. I did 22 years as an engineer and took full advantage of privatisation and company share saving schemes, then took “early release” and went to work as a machine operator for 12 years before being made redundant. I was just turned 50 and decided that I could live on what I'd saved until I could draw on my pension.

    My lifestyle is extremely frugal, I'm not complaining in the least. The fact that I no longer need to work is all the compensation I was looking for. There's a lot to be said for the simple pleasures in life.

    So, I raise my glass to you Dioclese, to use a familiar quote, “live long and prosper”.

  2. Thanks. I didn't actually right the piece, but he thanks you as well !!

    Fully agree with you about retirement. I reckon the earlier you retire the longer you live and there's a lot more to life than chasing money. If you've got enough, you've got enough.

  3. 60 – 64 kids. Wait until you are 75 like me, and realise that you can not do the things you once did at 25. Then you will know that you have passed through late youth into “getting on a bit”. You can also get away with forgetting things. They put it down to “old age”, but actually it is “don't want to bloody know”.

  4. Yep getting older can be a bugger. I'm 60 next year and am seriously thinking of retiring. I'd like to buy a nice two bed rural property and hunker down for my dotage. I have frugal tastes. Give me a beer and a lap top and I'm fine. Mrs S is a little more high maintenance and worries how she will fund her lavish lifestyle. As for money, I get a small private pension when I turn 60 and of course there is the state variety at 65. I've got a few bob salted away so I should be okay if I can keep the missus under control. First I just need to kick the kids and granddaughter out of the house……

  5. Oh, by the way, happy birthday Mr C.

First comments must be approved - but after that you're in !

