Lest we forget

On the morning of Thursday, 7 July 2005, four moslem men detonated four bombs—three in quick succession aboard London Underground trains across the city and, later, a fourth on a double-decker bus in Tavistock Square. As well as the four bombers, 52 civilians were killed and over 700 more were injured in the attacks, the United Kingdom’s worst terrorist incident since Lockerbie as well as the country’s first ever suicide attack.

On 26 June 2015, there was an Islamic terror attack at the tourist resort at Port El Kantoui, about 10 kilometres north of the city of Sousse, Tunisia. Thirty-eight people, thirty of whom were British, were killed when an armed gunman attacked a hotel.

On this 10th anniversary of the London attacks, I can’t help wondering what will happen later today?
I was going to write a long piece on these attacks, but I think it more appropriate to reflect on two things :
(1) We should remember the victims of these attacks and the many others around the world over recent years
(2) We should remember that Islam is a religion of peace
Well, one out of two isn’t bad…
6 responses to “Lest we forget

  1. Yes, it's undeniably a terrible thing when people going about their daily affairs are slaughtered by fanatical maniacs. But, and there's always a but, do you think the recent event warrants the building of a permanent memorial. I'm not sure when this trend started, was it possibly at the time of Diana's death? I find it extremely mawkish, this public outpouring of grief. The loss of a loved one is surely a matter of private grief for the friends and families of the deceased?

    I must admit that I find it rather irritating when I see these “roadside shrines” where people leave bunches of flowers at the scene of an accident. In my opinion the cemetery or crematorium are the appropriate places for flowers and tributes.

    I should add that I don't see any parallel between a relatively small number losing their lives in terrorist outrages and the vast loss of life during large scale warfare, so I have no problem with war memorials at all. It's odd to think that during WW2 when a women lost her husband all she got in most cases was a telegram, we've come a very long way from that haven't we?

  2. Mick Anderson

    “during WW2 when a women lost her husband all she got in most cases was a telegram” – apart from the name on the village war memorial and perhaps a widows pension.

    I think that my problem with a permanent memorial for those killed by terrorists is that it elevates the actions of these twisted religious nutters to that of warrior. The deviants who encourage suicide bombers can point to the memorials as a sign of success.

  3. Indeed, yes. Very good point.