93 Men in a Boat [48] : The Porsche Owners

So there we are on an excursion to the Cape Winelands for a spot of wine tasting at a local winery.

The sun is blazing down as we disembark the bus next to a shiny new Porsche Wotsit (it’s all lost on me, I’m afraid).

“Oh” says the plummy voiced bloke next to as we wait to go in, “I’ve got one of those!”

“Really” comes the reply. “I’ve got a Boxster” Apparently that’s one better than the other fellow has so he’s got one over on him. Goody!

“Ah” says a third plum. “My wife has one of those but I’ve got the hard top.” “Yes, you certainly have” I think as I admire his bald head glistening in the South African sunlight…

“Mind you” says the first one, “They’re totally impractical. You can get bugger all in them. That’s why we have one each!”

Finally I can stay silent no more! “I know exactly what you mean” I interject. “That’s why I gave mine to my daughter and bought the Bentley” leaving them standing there open mouthed as I pop in for my vino…

2 responses to “93 Men in a Boat [48] : The Porsche Owners

  1. rapscallion

    Pretentious tossers. They'd have more respect from me if they trundled round in a slightly battered Mini or something. The really amusing thing that is completely lost on the brain dead like those in your article, is that those who really do have flipping great wodges of cash never ever broadcast the fast. In fact, I would go so far to say that they actually hide the fact.