It’s polling day…

It’s the longest day of the year today. Bet you didn’t know that, did you?

Well, it is for me anyway. By the time this reaches the virtual presses of the internet, I shall have been hard at it (no, not like that, so wash your mind out!) for over an hour already. It’s a hard job, but somebody has to do it…

From around 6:30 this morning until after 10pm this evening I shall be on duty at a local polling station helping good old Joe and Jane Public exercise their democratic prerogative.

I’m told there’s always one awkward bastard waiting on the door step on the dot of 7 to cast his vote and that there’s usually a rush at around 6pm as people drift home from work, but other than that it’s generally quite quiet. And quite boring. Especially as the turnout tends to be lower in local elections than a general.

My presiding officer tells me that one year his polling station was in a caravan in a rural ward and that during the course of the 15 hours the polling station was open, only three people turned up to vote. I’m hoping for better, but I’ve never done it before so at least it will be a whole new experience.

Then it’s home and straight into bed – because tomorrow I’ve got to be down at the local leisure centre at 8:30 for the count.

Why would I put myself through this? Well, because it’s my democratic and patriotic duty, that’s why. The £225 they pay me for the inconvenience has nothing whatsoever to do with it.

Ah! Democracy in action. Doesn’t it just give you a nice warm feeling?..

Comments are closed.