Pussy Riot

As my regular reader will know, I am quite partial to a bit of a protest song, so I have followed with great interest the events in Moscow…

Seems a bunch of girls formed a punk band called ‘Pussy Riot’ – love the name – and decided to publicise one of their musical offerings by an impromptu performance in Moscow’s main cathedral. Apparently this didn’t go down too well – probably because they made the mistake of not only insulting the church, but also of having a pop at Vladimir Putin who is a man little noted for his sense of humour.

Apparently, the girls knew exactly what they were doing and were trying to draw attention to the Russian church’s support for Putin in his recent election campaign to become dictator of all the Russias for the third time. Well, they certainly succeeded. After being locked up for five months ‘awaiting trial’ which, as far as I can see, is another way of saying locked up for five months without trial, the girls have been sentenced to two years imprisonment in a pretty shitty Russian penal colony.

Well, I admire their spunk if not their common sense. After all, what did they expect for the heinous crime of ‘hooliganism motivated by religious hatred’? Mind you, this is pretty rich coming from a country who, not that many years back, banned religion altogether and sent priests off to gulags.

The Fourth Reich, UK and USA have all condemned what they call ‘disproportionate sentencing’ and bunches of has-been celeb musicians have all been jumping up and down. So I thought I’d ask my own has-been non-celeb musician friend Chas C what he thought.

“Well,” he told me, “I’m bloody glad I don’t live in Russia or they’d lock me up and throw away the key for some of my stuff! I guess Putin’s just not a punk fan…”

One response to “Pussy Riot

  1. Nadezhda Tolokonnikova can come and do her time in my penal colony any time she likes.