God Save the Olympics!

Earlier this week, I published a guest post by my good friend Chas C about the Sex Pistols and how ‘God Save the Queen’ has been so misquoted in the MSM…

Well, Imagine my surprise therefore when I discovered that the Pistols had been approached and asked to perform at the closing ceremony for the coming Olympic Games! No – Honest – I kid you not!

Now what exactly was going through the heads of Coe’s Cohorts – apart from fresh air, obviously – when they came up with that idea is frankly beyond me.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not a fan of the Sex Pistols but by the same token I can listen to what they do and take a view on whether I like it or not. I can, as Chas suggested, read the Daily Telegraph and take the view of their Arts Correspondent ( actually, I’d never do anything quite so stupid! ) but love them or hate them, I can think of no better way to cringeingly embarrass this country than to have the Sex Pistols perform at the Olympics.

Love ’em or hate ’em, it’s just plain inappropriate.

Take it from me, the Games are doomed…

First comments must be approved - but after that you're in !

